Weekend Musings

Angel

I’ve been spending a lot of time working on crafts and I even did one art piece (the one above).  I’m not sure what happened, but crafts were stressful for awhile. Can you believe that? I’m not sure why  but they no longer were a way for me to relax. So, I continue to jump in, jump out and take long breaks and eventually come back. I guess in general that is what a hobby is for. To come and go and do as you please, without the pressure of commitment.  The last few months I’ve turned back to my hobbies. And boy do I have many.  I love reading, writing, crocheting, scrapbooking, photography… and so much more. I really have a lot of hobbies.  Lately, I’ve been working on a lot of crochet projects. I finished a wrap this evening for my grandmother. I have to block it, then add button and it will be complete. I have three requests in for 2 scarves and a shawl.  Crocheting has become the best thing to do while watching tv. So, rather then just mindlessly watching a show, I’m feeling a little productive and creating some pieces.

I also have been scrapbooking lately.  I met a friend while in school. She was actually my teacher. We found that we had scrapbooking in common. I think we have gone scrapbooking every month since October. We missed January, but I still scrapped. It’s been nice,  I’m motivated to get some pages done and hopefully complete an album.

So, tonight I’m in a scrapbooking mood. I was looking for motivation online and ran into this article about Sasha Holloway over at Lotus Paperie. She happens to be the guest designer. I first learned of Sasha over at Scrap In Style TV. I’ve been a fan of her work ever since. She’s got a unique style and I love that I’m back wanting to scrapbook and the first challenge I’m inspired to do is a layout challenge she was a part of, Challenge 162.

The one thing I have noticed about going back to scrapbooking and working on the art piece is that I no longer know what to do. I feel clumsy, unsure of what I want and how to express it. I have made several layouts but they all feel incomplete.  Can it be Saved? is a prime example of me feeling unsure of what I’m doing. I couldn’t even journal any detail.  I’ll be redoing that page, because I’m just not feeling it. The groove has left the building. I’m hoping to get it back 😉

Leave a Reply

